5. CULTURALLY-RESPONSIVE

Home Forums Dialogue Portal Dialogue Portal: Part 4 5. CULTURALLY-RESPONSIVE

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    JCAEC
    Keymaster

5. CULTURALLY-RESPONSIVE: Do you think that present-day art curriculum is culturally responsive to issues of gender, race, age, sexuality and disability issues?

GreatdanePuck15
    Participant

I do not believe that present day art curriculum is diverse enough nor does it embrace gender, age, sexuality, and disability. The community and school district are afraid of what may be generated in a care-free environment to create art and explore and test boundaries. For me as a middle school teacher, my curriculum and boundaries are set by the surrounding community and parents. If I encouraged students to work outside the curriculum and encouraged issues of gender, race etc… my voicemail and inbox would be overflowing with concerns and complaints from parents, and administration. I do not think that art curriculum today equally addresses these important issues, and I strongly feel we are slighting our students by not encouraging them to explore these boundaries and topics and only providing them with a less broadened view of the arts.

Anonymous
    Inactive